A BRIEF HISTORY - ST. JOHN'S UMC
1850 Methodism arrived in Santa Fe with the arrival of Reverend E.G. Nicholson. New Mexico had become a U.S. Territory just two years prior as a result of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo with Mexico.
1869 Reverend Dyer from Colorado traveled to Santa Fe in 1869. The local Presbyterian minister graciously allowed Dyer to assist him with Sunday service. Dyer took full advantage of his time at the pulpit and artfully delivered his Methodist-Episcopal message. Based on his experience, Dyer conveyed his support to establish a Methodist-Episcopal church to the newly appointed District Superintendent Thomas Harwood. A small white adobe-clad structure with a short steeple was built on San Francisco Street.
1906 In 1897 a Speculation Committee of the Official Board of the young church authorized the purchase of Lots 23, 24, and 25 on Don Gaspar from Judge N.B. Laughlin. A total of $650, $400 in cash and a $250 promissory note, was paid to seal the deal. Construction of the red brick building began in April 1902 but was not completed until 1906 due to financial inadequacies.
1954 The doors swung open to parishioners and guests for its inaugural worship on February 7, 1954. Three hundred and seventy-four cars filled the parking lot and 750 people flooded in. Reverend Howard Bush led the service and attendees piled a record breaking $1,012 into the offering plates.
1968 Methodist churches merged with the Evangelical United Brethren in 1968. It is at this point in our church’s history that we acquired our current name - St. John’s United Methodist Church.